Personal Musings

Love at the Grocery Store

grocery

카카오프렌즈 네오 프로도에 대한 이미지 검색결과Yesterday, Hubby and I went grocery shopping at Homeplus. To make it a little more fun, I gave him a shopping spree challenge. He could pick anything he wanted and should be back to turn the stopwatch off within thirty seconds. I promised to pay everything he would grab without question. He ran quickly towards the mandu (dumpling) section and grabbed 6 packs of his favorite Bibigo mandu. LOL. Yes, fun can come at the most mundane of times. Doing a high five at the produce section, poking each other in the ice cream aisle and laughing near the eggs — oh, the little things in life!

Do you enjoy grocery shopping with your boyfriend, girlfriend or spouse? No matter how much you think you know, there are always more things you can learn about your significant other. And nothing helps you look more into the very core of his or her being like grocery shopping together. Aside from the chance of knowing your partner’s spending habit, you’ll also discover that every aisle in the grocery store is a chance to bond or wonder who the hell is that alien standing beside you. 🤣

Hubby: Aigooya! Yeobo, it’s just dishwashing liquid. They all do the same thing. Get one quickly!

Me: A box of ramyun? Are you serious? Do you want to have high blood pressure, diabetes, cancer.. in short, do you want to die early?!

Hubby: What do you mean by fancy sushi? With a gold ribbon on top?! Where can we buy that?!

Me: OMG. Who needs that much sausage?!

Hubby: I know it’s on sale but that’s a lot. Are you going to eat miyuk-guk (seaweed soup) everyday for a decade?

카카오프렌즈 이모티콘에 대한 이미지 검색결과Don’t get us wrong. We don’t always bicker or disagree while shopping but when we do, it leads to deeper understanding and brings about greater intimacy. Besides, it is a lot of fun! There are things about each other that we accept without question. He knows well that as a woman, I am programmed to buy food and drinks that claim to have collagen. On top of that, he allows me to grab all kinds of tea that I want to try. I have also accepted that he has a deep love affair with mandu and strawberry jam. LOL. 😂🤣

One thing I truly appreciate about my husband is his intentional presence whenever we do something together, especially grocery shopping. He’s more than just a shopping cart pusher or a personal driver; he’s a responsible and dependable partner. He checks and compares products, and gets good quality items with reasonable price.

카카오프렌즈 이모티콘에 대한 이미지 검색결과I’m glad I married a smart shopper because sometimes I am a compulsive one. When I ask him to buy a tray of eggs, he actually comes back with just the eggs. But when I go out to buy some milk, I come  home with a bag full of groceries. Well, I don’t go over budget but I’m still trying my best to stick to our weekly meal plan. So help me God! 🙏 ㅋㅋㅋ

Grocery shopping together is one of our favorite weekend outings, and it has made our relationship stronger. We get to plan for a special meal at home, and remember how well we work together as a team despite our differences.

카카오프렌즈 이모티콘에 대한 이미지 검색결과